The Gaming Resource Library
Go To:Home Page - Magic - Rules - Search - Results
New Search1 total results
This search based on the Oct 23, 2009 release of the Rulings.

Paralyze
    Color= Black Type= Enchantment - Aura Cost= B A(C)/B(C)/U(C)/R(C)/4(C)/5(C)
    Text (5th+errata): Enchant creature. ; When ~this~ enters the battlefield, tap enchanted creature. ; Enchanted creature doesn't untap during its controller's untap step. ; At the beginning of the upkeep of enchanted creature's controller, that player may pay {4}. If he or she does, untap the creature. [Oracle 2009/07/08]
  • It can only be untapped using Paralyze once per turn. [D'Angelo 2000/03/03]
  • Two Paralyzes are not cumulative. Paying either one will untap the creature. [D'Angelo 2000/03/03]
  • Paying the cost is optional. [D'Angelo 1994/04/01]
  • The enchantment is a permanent. It does not leave once it is paid. This is a common mistake. [D'Angelo 1994/04/01]
  • Because Paralyze is paid during upkeep, the creature does avoid restrictions on the untap phase such as Smoke, and can untap when Stasis is in effect, or untap around the Meekstone. [bethmo 1994/04/01]
  • The creature becomes tapped just after Paralyze comes into play, not when it declared. [Aahz 1994/07/29]
  • Paralyze can be played on creatures which are already tapped. [D'Angelo 1994/06/01]
  • Note - Also see Aura, Rule G1.31.
  • Note - This card was of type "Enchant Creature" until Oracle 2005/08/01.
New Search1 total results
This search based on the Oct 23, 2009 release of the Rulings.


Copyright 1994-2009, Crystal Keep