Text (ON): 6/6. ; You may divide ~this~'s combat damage as you choose among defending player and/or any number of creatures he or she controls.
You can use the ability to divide damage even if it is not blocked. [Onslaught FAQ 2002/09/24]
If it is blocked but then all of its blockers are removed before combat damage is assigned, then it won't be able to deal combat damage and you won't be able to use its ability. [Onslaught FAQ 2002/09/24]
You can choose to assign damage normally to the blocking creature(s) or to the defending player if there were no blockers assigned. [D'Angelo 2003/06/14]
If you choose to use the ability to divide up the damage (and there is at least one point of damage to be assigned), you must choose at least one creature or the defending player, and cannot choose more total creatures and players than the amount of damage being assigned (minimum 1 point per player or creature). [DeLaney 2003/05/19]