The Gaming Resource Library
Go To:Home Page - Magic - Rules - Search - Results
New Search1 total results
This search based on the Oct 23, 2009 release of the Rulings.

Black Vise
    Color= Artifact Type= Artifact Cost= 1 A(U)/B(U)/U(U)/R(U)/4(U)
    Text (4th+errata): As ~this~ enters the battlefield, choose an opponent. ; At the beginning of the chosen player's upkeep, ~this~ deals X damage to that player, where X is the number of cards in his or her hand minus 4. [Oracle 2009/07/08]
  • You choose one opposing player as it comes into play and it only affects that one player. This choice is not changed even if this card changes controllers. It becomes useless but stays in play if the that player leaves play. [D'Angelo 2000/03/03]
  • Amount of damage is determined when the effect is resolved and not when it is announced. [D'Angelo 1995/10/05]
  • If you take control of a Vise that targets you, you continue to take damage from it. The "chosen opponent" check is only made when it is played and is not checked by the effect again after it is in play. [D'Angelo 1996/01/07]
  • If X is less than zero, it does not deal any damage. [D'Angelo 2006/10/08]
  • Vintage tournaments (see Rule 911) restricted this card from 1996/02/01 to 1996/04/01, then again from 1997/07/01 to 2007/06/20.
  • Legacy tournaments (see Rule 912) have banned this card since 1996/02/01.
  • Extended tournaments (see Rule 913) have always banned this card.
  • Standard (Type 2) tournaments (see Rule 914) have banned this card since 1997/01/01. It was previously restricted from 1996/02/01 to 1997/01/01.
New Search1 total results
This search based on the Oct 23, 2009 release of the Rulings.


Copyright 1994-2009, Crystal Keep